North Carolina Legislators Choose Leadership


This week, legislators in both chambers of the General Assembly chose their leadership for the upcoming 2023 session.        

Senate Republican voted for these leaders:

  • Sen. Phil Berger (R-Rockingham) to a seventh term as President Pro Tem
  • Sen. Paul Newton (R-Cabarrus) as Majority Leader succeeding Sen. Kathy Harrington (R-Gaston), who did not run for reelection. Newton is a retired Duke Energy executive and was first elected to the Senate in 2016.
  • Sen. Ralph Hise (R-Mitchell) as Deputy President Pro Tem
  • Sen. Tom McInnis (R-Moore) and Sen. Jim Perry (R-Lenoir) as Majority Whips
  • Sen. Carl Ford (R-Rowan) as Caucus Liaison

In a separate meeting, Senate Democrats reelected Sen. Dan Blue (D-Wake) as Minority Leader and Sen. Jay Chaudhuri (D-Wake) as Minority Whip.

House Republicans earlier this month supported Rep. Tim Moore (R-Cleveland) for a fifth two-year term as House Speaker. If elected by the full House in January, Moore will hold the record for longevity in that post. House Democrats will meet on December 5 to choose their leaders. Current House Minority Leader Rep. Robert Reives (D-Chatham) has said he will seek another term.

For more information, contact a member of the Brooks Pierce Government Affairs Team.

Jump to Page

This website uses cookies to enhance user experience and to analyze performance and traffic on our website. For more information on our cookie use, see our Privacy Policy.